4 Things I Learned After I Quit My Life

About 2 months ago, I quit my life. In hindsight, I probably should not have done something so rash, however I did gain some things from the experience.

Perhaps this is old news for you, but these 4 things will beĀ the building blocks for the rest of my life.

Enough Is Enough

This phrase usually means something is stopping. No more. Cease the action! Usually I see it used when someone is talking about some kind of output stopping. When there should be no more.

But what about having enough?

We live in a culture of “More, More, More!” More money, More entertainment, More consuming.

I learned that we really only need just enough. Not more than enough.

I’m done trying to live my life seeking for more than enough. I just need enough, and that’s good enough for me.

 

You Have Limited Resources

Energy, time, money – whatever you consider to be your resources, they are the things we collect, store, and invest into the things in our lives.

We all have a finite amount.

You may be thinking “Well, duh!” – But it doesn’t stop at just knowing we have a limited amount of resources we can spend on cultivating our lives. I learned that, because we have a limited amount of resources, we have to be careful with them.

Because you have a limited amount of personal resources, that makes them intrinsically valuable.

Would you trade a real diamond for a fake one? What about trading a Lamborghini for a tricycle?

Yeah, you can spend your resources on anything, but why not spend them on things that will give you something back?

Additionally, when you are devoting some of your resources to completing a task, don’t waste those resources by doing a poor job that you will need to redo later. Do it right the first time, and you will have more resources to spend on other things.

 

Unconditional Positive RegardĀ 

Coined by humanistic psychologist Carl Rogers, unconditional positive regard is a basic idea of acceptance and support.

I learned that giving people unconditional positive regard – not judging them, not placing requirements on your love or care – makes not only them happier, but it makes me happier as well.

Anyone can come to me with anything, and I will interact with everyone with this basic idea. I have seen people change because of this, and I have felt myself change as well.

Even if you can’t do this to everyone – try. Be sincere about it and I promise you will begin to feel a change for the better.

 

Mind. Body. Soul.

I’ve spent a large portion of my life living lackadaisically in regards to my health. I haven’t given much attention to my diet or my sleep, nor to my relationships, my mind, or my interests. I’ve realized it’s time to change that.

I learned that being healthy takes a multi-facet approach. To really become healthy, and become the best you can be – give these three areas the proper attention they need:

Mind – This is not just your mind, but your heart as well. They are two sides of the same coin. They may feel like they pull you in different directions, but they only give you options. Find a balance, and stretch your mind and heart. They will grow, and you will grow.

Body – We all are, at a fundamental level, a bio-organism that requires our care and attention. Just like a baby requires care and attention to survive, so does your body. Don’t neglect it. Be conscious of what you put into your body, and what you do with it, and your body will perform in ways you never thought possible. Wild animals take care of their bodies, so why shouldn’t you?

Soul – This one can be a touchy subject for some people, so I’ll be brief on it. Find the things in life that bring you happiness. Not the short term pleasure, but the deep kind of joy that so many people live without. Live your life looking for the good things – love, peace, patience, kindness, and joy.

I’ve learned many things in my life, and I know I have many things yet to learn. Do me a favor, and do someone else a favor, and pass these things on.

 

20160504_061532.jpg
Sunrise, the dawn of a new day. Photographer: Dakota Fenstemaker
Leave a Reply

